Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

Agression?? training

2K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  cadkids 
#1 ·
So Kona is developing quite an attitude as of late. So much so that he is now NOT allowed off leash any more.

We live in the mountains and our whole town is basically an off leash town ( even the tourists dont leash their dogs)

Kona has started charging up to people, chest puffed out and barking like mad ....not an aggressive bark...but a bark none the less.

he WILL NOT come back to me when called. Which is so upsetting because I thought we had a 100% reliable recall. Also, upsetting because he is obviously intimidating to whomever he is barking at.

When he starts barking and running towards the person he is sooooo focused I cannot break his concentration..even a whistle blast will not make his ear twitch.

I started training with a very long leash. I say "Kona come" tug the leash and he trots back every time. When there is a distraction, I have to basically reel him back to me and he never breaks concentration on what he is looking at.

I have an e collar but afraid to use it..... Have tried to find a trainer but none within a two hour drive

Any suggestions advice???

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)