Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

Housebreaking 6 month old male puppy

1K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  jdworth 
#1 ·
Hey everyone. This is my first time to actually post on here but I browse often. We have just gotten our second boxer, a male puppy who is now 6 months old. He is full german and was the runt of the litter which is why he was given to us. We've had him a little over a month and since then he has been doing really well. He has put on weight, plays well with our 8 year old female boxer and is very well adjusted. The only issue we've seen is with housebreaking. When we got him he had been outside some, in the garage some and in the house some. I know he has had confusion issues with knowing where to go, etc. Some days he will do great, and let us know he needs outside, then others it's as if he doesn't even try: he'll play outside for an hour then come in an pee in the floor. He's even pee'd on the sofa twice. We use a crate with him at night and he does great with it and we try to watch him for clues that he needs to go but like I said, he doesn't always give any. He also will start peeing in one spot and then start walking while he is going so there is a trail all around the house. Please share any secrets, tips of advice that you may have that would make this easier on us both. Thanks so much!

#2 ·
we put bells on our door and everytime you take the puppy out you show them to ring the bells. now she is a ringing machine with those darn bells, only problem is when we go somewhere other than our house we watch her very closely on hints of having to pee bc we dont take the bells with us.

also try taking him our every 45 minutes to an hour, i know he can hold it longer than that, but if you go out every hour give him a minute or two to walk around adn sniff and if he doesnt pee back inside, and if he pees praise and give treats.

#3 ·