Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8,155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone done it?   I my husband is thinking of it.  Right now he is 32 and has worked construction - VERY physical jobs.   He feels like his body is just wearing down and wants to get out and do something completely different.

So, I found him something, managing a cafe, (lunch breakfast) place. He bascially will be the chef's right hand man.   I think he would enjoy it because he is very outgoing and love meeting new people.  Also it will give him great experience shall my dream of opening the steak house in 5 years shall ever come true.  Our good friend just bought a breakfast/lunch place and he is loving it.   It was a total career change from him - he was a sports writer.

So, anyone do anything totally opposite of what you have done your entire life?   if so, good experience bad?

·
Registered
761 Posts
I'm 31, have had the same job since before I graduated college.  Just finished grad school in an entirely different field and when/if I pass my exam this February I will be facing a very similar decision.

·
Super Moderator
7,025 Posts
Ohhh Construction is hard on the body. I think it would be wise to have a job change especially if you want to enjoy your retirement years pain free. Look at those people who are in their mid to late 40's or older and decide they want to be a lawyer or a doctor. Life is to short to just say what if? Do what you want, while you can, if it is finacially feasable. I worked in a factory for 6 yrs,broke and trained horses for a living then decided to become a vet tech, then due to physical limitations became an office administrator and now I'm a house wife with four fur babies. lol And I'm only 29. I'm seriously thinking of opening my own highend pet store that caters to spoiled pooches.

I say go for it! If you work as a team it will all pan out. :)

·
Registered
3,728 Posts