Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,718 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm filling out Lola's AKC registration forms......(had them for awhile, I'm a bad mom).  Just wondering what the benefits of registering her are since I've never done it before....is it worth it to do?  I don't plan on showing her, and I know whites can't be shown anyways.  Also, do I need to come up with a different name?   Thanks!

·
Registered
18,306 Posts
Even if you aren't showing her, I would still register her with the AKC..There a lot of benefits to it..I believe then you can enroll in their "lost dog" program...You do need to come up with a registered name for her..A lot of times the breeders requests that you include  their kennel name. If you weren't told that, you can use whatever you want..Make it a play on Lola's name..Just nothing real silly....Buck's registered name is "Visions of timbuktu"..He came from Visions boxers, so I included the kennel name..Angel's is "I'm just a country angel"

·
Registered
4,661 Posts
I registered Reese in it. They give you lots of useful info detailing how your specific breed should be acting and what develpomental things should be going on at what stages in life-plus i love the added security of the CAR program. Companion Animal Recovery-not all clinics check for chips(even though they should)If for some reason the person claims the dog as their own then the clinic wont check- Reeses name is Reeses Pieces and then our last name. My daughter had a hand in the naming process!! :D

·
Registered
2,679 Posts
I didnt register Jessie, I dont have any papers or anything from the breeder to even know where to start!

·
Registered
2,718 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The breeder didn't request that we use their name.  I was thinking "Princess Lola of Wessagusset" (our old town name).  Or "Princess Lola of Great Republic" (street name).  Are those silly?

·
Registered
2,718 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Chloesmom\";p=\"10557 said: