Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I am new to the board and this is my first post, hope I am in the right section!

Little info about myself I am a 20yeard old student at OSU and the proud parent of a male boxer (Bach) he is about 2 1/2 years old.

Seeing as how its summer time and I will be spending a lot of time at the lake and do not want to have to leave Bach crated up all day while we are out on the lake, I would like some tips on helping to get him used to the water. As of now he will not even step foot in the water. I have tried playing fetch with him and throwing his toy in lake and he will put on the breaks before he hits the water. Also I

·
Registered
1,267 Posts
You just have to take it really slow, and give him LOTS of opportunities to see the boat/water.  I would take him for a picnic or something next to the lake on a long leash.  You can tether him so he can reach the water, but doesn't have to be uncomfortably close to it.  You sit as close to the water as you can and eat yummy food!  or just sit and read a book or listen to music.  Hopefully with time he will get used to it, and eventually overcome his fear and want to be close to you and therefore close to the water.  Be sure to bring some of his favorite treats to reward him when he gets closer.
AFter he is comfortable with the water then you can start with the boat.
Good luck!

·
Registered
2,327 Posts
when you finally do get him to go on the boat you should make sure he is wearing a doggy lifejacket..you can get them at petsmart and similar stores.

·
Registered
112 Posts