Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi again, I'm the one who rescued a boxer in July this year even though I'm totally new to boxers.

My boxer Bailey has introduced a lot of new hassles into our home, especially for my husband. First he accepted her into the house, sight unseen, due to my and my daughter's long-distance insistence. (We called him from out of state just before we headed home and pleaded with him to take her in.) As I've said before, we've had a few mishaps with property destruction and house-breaking issues. Things were getting better. And then....

Last night hubby left Bailey alone in the living room (with the other dogs) for just a few minutes. When he returned, she and our other puppy, a 2-year-old beagle/rottweiler mix, were devouring the last of a roast chicken that had been on the kitchen counter. He was fit to be tied and immediately blamed the mess on Bailey (and probably rightly so given that the other has never counter-surfed and probably doesn't have that ability). The first thing he did was call me and say he did not want to deal with the extra security issues of having to make sure food is not available on the counter when Bailey is left alone. A few hours later, and this morning, he was able to reconsider and back away from his initial response, but he resents her (even as he cups her head in his hands and kisses her this morning).

Other issues he brought up were the possibility that Bailey might be training the other puppy to try and get food while we're away and his perception that Bailey doesn't care what we ask her to do so is "untrainable." The last item is related to her getting on the couch repeatedly (a no-no in our house), and sometimes acting confused when we tell her to get off. The other puppy has a more "anthropomorphic" response...a guilty look and a sneakiness about her that seems to charm the pants off of hubby.