Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Hi everyone,

I am new to this website and I am just looking for a little advice about my boxer bitch.  Recently, I have noticed that one of her eyes has a small spot of white(ish) colour just over her pupil.  Is this something that is common among boxers?  I am not really sure of what it is and with it being near Christmas, I don't want it to be infectd or anything like that.  She seems to have no problems with seeing things and it doesn't seem to be bothering her, but I have noticed it for 2 or 3 days now and I am starting to get a little worried.

Does anybody know what this sounds like and if so, will it just disappear on it's own or do you think I ought to take to see the vet?

Many thanks,

Hazel.

·
Registered
2,650 Posts
Im not an expert at all, but to me it does not sound normal.. IMO i would get it checked out.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Hazel,  Try using the search function.  There are hundreds of posts about eye problems and concerns.  You might find your answer there.

Regards
Scott

·
Registered
11,429 Posts
I found this searching the web, but I would recommend seeing a vet to be sure it is not something serious.  Didn't see it for boxers this was under a pit bull website.

Corneal Lipidosis

Corneal Lipidosis is lipid fat deposits which occur under the surface of the cornea which is thought to be inherited. These deposits appear as non-painful opaque whitish blemishes which usually occur bilaterally. Although this is not a serious medical condition as the opacities created by the deposits are non-inflammatory, not associated with systemic disease and not thought to impair vision, they are rather unsightly from a cosmetic standpoint. Occasionally, these opacities can regress or disappear but there is no medical therapy available to reduce this lipid deposition. It is thought that diet may contribute to this condition.

·
Registered
839 Posts