Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

As my last Boxer was a fawn it was very important to me that my new pup be very different looking so I was only interested in a plain brindle and I only wanted a male. After a few months of research I settled on a local breeder and my "soon to be" new puppy was born 3 weeks ago.

When I first contacted the breeder I told her I wanted a pet but that I would be doing Obedience trials, nose work and perhaps even Shutzhund if he had the right drive.

He was the only male in the litter and when he was born she asked me if I intended to have him neutered. I told her that I would like to keep him intact at least until he was fully grown (18-24 months) as that was what my vet had recommended was the healthiest way to go. I told her that although I have no experience with Confirmation or breeding that I would be open to the idea of keeping him intact if she thought that he had what it takes to do well as a show/stud dog. This made her very happy as his sire is her best male and she really would like to keep the line going if possible. We agreed to wait, watch and see how he develops and that I would join her with one of his sisters to learn confirmation handling.

She just sent me the contract and told me that we could discuss it and make amendments if needed.

So, as I am totally new to this I'm reaching out to you experienced breeders to help me with the contract details.
The bulk of it relates to the general care of the dog which I'm use to and have no problems with at all, it's the part dedicated to co-ownership that I'm asking about here.

Show / Breeding Puppy Agreement:

It is agreed that the buyer purchase this puppy for the PET price of $2000.00 plus 5% GST.
Registration papers will be provided to purchaser on a co-own contract OR on a non breeding contract.