Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I'm new to all of this so please forgive me if I'm going about this the wrong way. I've just received devistating news that my love...my senior Boxer Luckie has hemangiosarcoma in his spleen. The vet recommend a splenectomy but I'm not sure that's the right decision for us. I am truly devastated to say the least! Anyone else have experience with this that would be willing to share? I'm so confused. Thanks! :cry:

·
Registered
2,565 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum from Oklahoma. I'm so sorry to hear about your Lucky.

I dealt with cancer for 3+ years with my Gouda. I learned a lot of those years and did extensive research. I know hemangiosarcoma is a very aggressive and difficult cancer to treat. Your best line of defense is to research research and more research. Read as much as you can about hemangiosarcoma and be open to any and all treatments you can afford. I did NOT believe herbs/supplements would help Gouda, she had Cutaneous Epitheliotropic T Cell Lymphoma but Im a believer now! I believe it improved her quality of life and extended her life as well. Im NOT saying you will have the same results but if you are willing to fight for Lucky then its worth a shot.

What are you feeding Lucky? Dogs with cancer have very specific dietary needs, mainly low carbs/sugars(cancer feeds on carbs/sugars) and high protein(thats IF you dog doesnt have any other problem like kidney or liver disease).

Make sure to read these article from the holistic section in here. Also you will find more info there on abuot non traditional cancer treatments:

http://www.boxerforums.com/holistic...coma-dogs-holistically-herbs-supplements.html

Feel free to PM me I would be glad to help if I can. Also if you have facebook make sure to join the group Pet Cancer Support. I learned a lot there and the people are very supportive and will help you a lot. Best of luck and keep us posted!

·