Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to owning a boxer. My question is do you crate your boxer everytime you leave him/her alone? We have to try a put everything out of her reach so she won't chew it up because we don't crate her. Looks like I'm not going to have a choice she's one. She's chewing up shoes. Just looking for suggestions.
Thanks.

·
Registered
5,370 Posts
OK, well first she is not chewing up , crap "because," she is left alone un-crated. She is chewing crap up because of a "lack of rules,structure and limitations." I'm certainly "Not," going to discourage using a Crate. And we can help with out with that. But ... it's a Boxer board and well you know not a Lot of rule following goes on, with ... "convectional wisdom," for the most part??

Not all but most of our dog's ... let's see ... sleep in our bed's, get up on the furniture at will, and free roam indoors at will. Now doing any one of those three thing's can lead to "issues," if your dog does not have a grip on the first three ie "Rules, Structure and Limitations."

It took me awhile to understand that "bit," butt in as much as I keep getting rescues and "De Crate," training them successfully. I finally understand ..."now," what the deal is.

But moving on if your going to Crate her, then you have to crate her! She should eat in her crate, sleep in her crate and when she is indoors .... she should go to her Crate. IE no free roaming indoors! You can't just cram her in her crate ... when you have to leave her alone.

I am not saying that is your plan here?? That's just my take on "Crating." Cuz on the other hand ... if you sent her away for a Two Week Board and Train $$$. She would come back "Crate Trained!" Pro's don't have time to "Screw Around," as it were. But you know there are "other means," to achieve a "well balanced calm-ish Boxer. :)