Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
948 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I see this has come up a lot of the forum.. I'm the kind of person who can't take stuff in til its preached to them.. lol I don't know why. I'm bringing my girl home June 16th and I want to get her ears cropped.. I heard there were two different kinds. The german crop (short .. almost pitbull like) and the show crop (the real long ones). My aunt's boxer has the german crop and I really really like that look. Is it okay to get them done that way? I'm bringing her home at 8 weeks and I was going to get them done around 11 weeks so she's somewhat use to her new surroundings. Is the upkeep on them difficult and time consuming? Can they lead normal lives after they're done?

·
Registered
4,694 Posts
of course they can lead normal lives lol I have no experience with ear crops but the show crops are alot more work to get to stand because they cut so much of the "bell" (cartilage sp?) off and they are pretty long! With the "pit" type crop or some people call it the pet crop is alot easier to get to stand because they leave more of the bell on and the ears are cut way shorter!!! 11 weeks is a good age to have ears cropped!

·
Registered
948 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How much does it average where everyone else lives?

I haven't called around anywhere yet.. But I will be tomorrow. I don't know if my vet does it or not... If they don't I'll be going somewhere else.. They all have pitbulls, so they would know the kind of look I want more so than a veterinarian I don't know.

lol and I meant normals lives like, right after its done, will she be allowed around my other dog and play outside and stuff? I don't want to keep her locked up in a crate...  :(

·
Registered
2,937 Posts