Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
882 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Will be taking Gaby to the beach and boating this summer, and I'm wondering if there are any concerns on drinking the water from the lake?.....Gaby seems to just love water, she always tries to steals her way in the shower with me, and doesn't seem to mind her baths in the whirl pool tub either...I never had this issue with Sexy because she hated water...she wouldn't even go out when it rains or walk through a puddle :lol:  anyways if anyone knows of any concerns or has had previous issues with this I'd love to hear from you!

·
Registered
263 Posts
I am not sure on Dogs drinking lake water, but my son got swimmers ear this summer, very painful and the doctor was telling me how really dirty lake water can be with all the bateria that is in it. We were ear plugs now....it grossed me out!  I perfer the swimming pool. (not public though)

·
Registered
130 Posts
I'm not an expert and i'm sure there is someone on here that has a much better answer but I would think that it would be ok. I think the only issue would be if it's something like a farm pond where animal could get in it  and pollute it with waste. (you will know what i'm talking about if you've ever seen a farm pond with cattle)

·
Registered
11,429 Posts
You might want to look into lepto (that is the short name for the disease) and see if it is prevelent in your area.  I had heard that they give it to hunting dogs in this area because they will drink water from ponds etc so I didn't think about it so much but there has been one case lately that my sister heard about from the owner, the dog is a hunting dog but goes to the dog park also.  They are not sure where he got it but they almost lost him to the disease.  My sister just got a shot for her dog and I will be getting Kiahs soon.   Here is a website but take in to account that the article was written in 1997 so there may be more up todate info on it: