Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All! I am new to the Boxer Forum  I have a 3yr old Fawn boy that is has been having some ear troubles. It is only in his left ear. He is shaking it quite often. He is scratching around his ear to the point to where it is bleeding.  It is red and swollen inside. Both ears have a black look to them inside at the top inside.(It wont come off) I thought that it might be his food (he was on some cheap food) so I switched it to canidae. He has been on it for about a week and a half. It is not showing any signs of getting better. I give him 2 benadryl 25mg twice a day to help with it. Went to the vet and they gave him some roids to see if that would help. It did till he got off them.  I tried the search and didnt find what I wanted. THANKS IN ADVANCE

Ryan and my fawn TJ :)

·
Registered
8,155 Posts
No idea what the black it - sharon may have a better indication (she's a vet tech)

Yeast in the ears has a funny smell, red irritable ears, and bothersome.    The Vet can take a swab and look under the microscope to see if its bacteria or yeast.   They will perscribe a med ear drop to take it away.  But always clean the ears.   I used a medicated ear cleaner I got from the vet (we have had ear issues).  I clean them once a week.   Also a yeast infection or bacteria untreated can lead to sever damage even hearing loss.

So any ear issues, I always recommend a check for mites, yeast and / or bacteria.  If not, then get something to stop the alergy and get on track with a food switch.  - sounds like what you are doing but the black stuff would concern me, if its not dried up scabs from itching.

G

·
0 Posts
I know that when Simba  (my dog at my mom's house) gets his years infections in his ears...he shakes his head, it smells bad, and he gets a blackish brown discharge from his ears...or maybe it could be earmites?

·
Registered
8,155 Posts
Ear cleaning tip and dogs love it -