Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, everyone I'm new to Boxers and this site.  I got my boy 2 weeks ago from a breeder, and started him off on the same food that the breeder was feeding him.  However he wasn't really eating it, so I tried the sample pack the vet gave me and he liked it so I decided to switch him.  Now he eats it and sometimes wants no part of it, so since I was looking to go raw with him I decided to mix a raw egg into his meal and he loved it, ate the whole bowl and licked it clean.  Then I started to think that 3 eggs a day might be too much for a 13 week old male.  When I try giving his kibble without egg he doesn't want to eat.  My questions are : are raw eggs ok for pups, he's he too young to go raw, how do I get easy info for a raw diet most seem to be complicated.   BTW, he is not over/under weight.

Thanks,
Mark

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
There are several people on here that feed Raw so I am sure they will jump in on that one.....

I feed Fiona a raw egg twice a week (she is 14 months)...but when I do I put it in a seperate bowl and dont give it to her at the same time as her kibble because I dont want her to put the two together and not eat without one....3 a day seems like a lot to me for any age dog....but again I dont feed raw so maybe I am not in the know on that!!!!

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry I just have added, that I started using one egg a day a splitting it up between his 3 meals.  Still not sure if an egg a day is good or not?

·
Registered
462 Posts
Just wondering...When feeding the raw eggs do you or should you feed the shell also :?:

·
Registered
8,155 Posts
Egg shells have calcium in them - I give mine the egg and shell.   I feed raw eggs twice a week - one egg per dog with shells  added to two of their meals per week.  

Some other beneficial add in is fish oils, or sardine.   Boost the immune system and help with conditioning the coat.