Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just a quick question everyone. Since I'm new to the breed, I had a question on "eye boogers".  Comparing my new boxer, 6.5wks old, to my chihuahua, it seems my boxer gets a bit more teary and residue around his inner eye region (tear region) than my chihuahuah. Is this normal for this breed. I mean, it's not a lot of tear residue, but just wanted to clear this up. He's going for his next vaccine on Tuesday, I'll ask the vet as well, but just wanted some feedback from you all. Thanx

·
Registered
770 Posts
Often my boxer Daisy gets quite bad tear stains below her eyes which show up really badly because she is white! I would just ask for the vets advice when you next go, just to be on the safe side.

Heather

·
Registered
4,661 Posts
I have to wipe Chloe's eye booger daily- just to keep her face clean. She doesnt always have them, but she will get a little teary. She is healthy-just is just a little girly girl so she she cries alot (that is what i tell myself):lol:

·
Registered
18,306 Posts
It seems to be a bit of a problem with all boxers, Samson has it & my other 2 did as well. I seem to remember from someone I was talking to that some foods seem to make it worse, but for the live of me, I don't remember which foods..I know, not a lot of help, huh?

Ask your vet tho, they are always a good source, esp if he/she is familiar with the breed...

·
Registered
19 Posts
From what I've read it has to do with the extra skin around their eyelids.  I could wipe eye boogies every 20 minutes ... literally.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Yup, eye boogers are pretty common, some days are better than others. Since he's going in for vaccinations, it can't hurt to have it checked just in case.