Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so i have never owned a female dog before and i had some questions...

When is their first heat?
How long does it last?
How often do they come?
how do i take care of the bleading?
what am i to expect?

I have a million thought running threw my head and i had thought of more questions this morning but thats what i can remember for now. thank you for your input i look forward to getting all the help and information i can get :)

thank you again

·
Registered
1,363 Posts
Typically, the first heat we be around 6-8 months.  I'm not sure about how long the cycle is.  They actually make a diaper that you can buy for the bleeding.  We had our girl spayed just after she turned 6 months.  She was about to go into heat IMO.  She did have a slight discharge following the procedure.

·
Registered
4,661 Posts
Reese is 10 months old and just came into her first heat. Its my first time to :) Heat lasts about 3 wks, usually dont start to spot/bleed until the second week. I believe heats come about twice a year...i could be wrong though. Depends on how much they bleed. if she just spots she may be able to take care of herself keeping clean wise, if she is a heavy bleeder you may need doggie diapers. thats as much research as i have found so far. we were going to have Reese spayed before her first heat, but right now the vet said no due to some issues.

·
Registered
18,306 Posts
Ditto what Andrea said. The best thing to do is what I did when we took in a stray a couple years ago that came into heat. Google it, I got a ton of information and it was really helpful....I did use those panties on Angel when we brought her home as she was still spotting after her surgery, they lasted for about an hour, she would roll around and pull them off :roll:

·
Registered
405 Posts
samsonsmom\";p=\"50958 said: