Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Our boxer mixed died 2 weeks ago and my husband went and got a boxer pup on saturday. he looks just like our deceased dog but has the boxer face that our other one didn't have. this is my first time having a flat faced dog. he's 3 months old and so far a very awesome laid back dog. :)

is it normal to have nasal discharge coming from the sides? i've gotten some nose butter cream that was recommended for the exterior dry nose. but i notice now im cleaning his nose a few times a day.

so, will his nose always look dry no matter how much nose butter i apply daily? and is it normal to have the nasal discharge or should i make a vet appointment. he has an appointment next month to get his next shots.

thanks in advance. :)

·
Registered
1,066 Posts
I use nose butter for my guy, he gets a very dry nose especially in the winter, and I have never had any discharge from his nose. I usually apply it from the top of the nose and work it down making sure not to get any inside his nasal cavaties.

I followed the directions and it seemed to work as advertised. 3x daily for about 3 days and its usually fine for awhile.

·
Registered
3,851 Posts
Dry nose, yes and we've used nose butter for it but he was just a vet for his annual shots and vet had a different name for it as we asked about it and an area on his leg where dew claw was. I can't remember theme he said but he ordered us a special cream he said its excess tissue growth and not really dry 9at leah in our case).
Running nose probably means a vet visit especially if it is thick or has color to it. If its clear and just runny I don't know. I'm always paranoid though with new puppies getting distemper or a virus of some sort. I'd probably go to the vet.

·
Registered
634 Posts
I saw your other post before this one. The dry nose is pretty common for our boys- we were told to use Vaseline and it works.