Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

I have a question about heartworms. Me and my friend who owns English bulldog goes to the same clinic for our dogs but we have different doctors. Her doctor prescribe for her puppy medicine that has to be taken once a month for heartwarms my didn't. She claims that is for every dog and my should get it to. Should he? This is the first time i have a dog everything is new for me I'm still learning maybe she is right? Please help.
Thank you
Magda.

·
Registered
1,198 Posts
I give my dogs heartworm pills every month except for the winter months and then every spring they get a heartworm test and get put back on their pills.  So I agree with your friend, I believe it is cold in New York so you may not want to start yet but when it starts to warm up alittle maybe March have your dog tested and then start giving the heartworm pills.  That is my opinion at least.....Sharon should be able to tell you more.

·
Registered
7,757 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts
I now give mine every month also.
I use to stop it in the winter like DUKE01 but unfortunatly when we went in for my pitbulls heart worm test in the spring he was possitive a very light possitive but non the less possitive. We had a heart worm test done before going off of the pills so I know that he got them from a strry misquito that was living in my house. We did the treatment that was 500.00 and put  him through  a lot so I personaly would keep them on pills every month all year.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I just talk to me vet. He told me to come back on march they will test him and put on medication. Duke you were right :) On the other hand after what Tootsie and Starr005 wrote maybe i shouldn't wait and start right away?

Thank you
Magda

·
Registered
3,939 Posts