Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!
My name is Jeanne.
My best friend in the world died eighteen months ago. Her name was Dixie Diana and she was a beautiful fawn boxer girl. She was only 7 years old when cancer took her from me.
She endured the dreaded 'C' not once, but twice in her short like. The first time was when she was 3 1/2 years old. She lost her lower jaw bone and chin to a rare form of cancer. It was difficult for her but she learned to eat, drink water and even pick up toys again. She lived happy and cancer free for the next three years. Then in Jan. 2006 I felt the swollen lymp nodes in her neck while hugging her one day. I knew when I felt them (I am a former Vet Assistant) that she likely had Lymphoma. My suspicions were confirmed two days later. Then on April 26, 2006 the Lymphoma took her from me.
At the time she passed we had three other dogs....Brittany, Skylar and Dixie Rose. And now five more dogs have joined the family.
Dixie taught us so much about loving and caring that we opened our hearts and home to dogs in need of homes.
Two we rescued when they were on their last days before they were to be put down.
Now because of all that Dixie brought to my life
I am the proud 'Mom' of...
Two Boxers...Brittany  8 1/2 years old and Dixie Rose  2 years old next month.
Two English Bulldogs.....Tyco and Tonka   9 months old
One Dalmatian......Skylar   6 years old
One Yellow Lab.....Marlee Mae   1 year old
One Boxer mix....Kash  (Rescue) approximately 2 years old
One Lab mix.....Tristan  (Rescue) approximately 2 years old.

I still hope to someday (hopefully in the near future) to have another boxer girl to honor my Dixie Diana. That is where the nickname Izzy comes in. That is the name I have chosen if I am lucky enough to have another beautiful boxer girl!  :)

·
Registered
9 Posts