Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am new to this so not sure if I have done this correctly.
Last week we brought a new female boxer puppy. For the first day she was was teething a bit which Is normal I assume but over the week it has got worst, instead of just a little nibble she full on bites my arms and ankles, growls and doesn’t let go, she has started to leave marks and cuts and yesterday she managed to bite through my daughter’s nose (which was not fun to deal with) We have tried saying no but all she does is growl at us and bite us harder, so then we tried getting up and leaving the room without making to much drama but when we do that she bites the sofas so we have to intervene. What should we do before she gets to big to control? Is this behaviour normal for a 9 week old?

·
Registered
1,330 Posts
This was posted in another post which really is perfect.

You can try redirecting with a chew toy or something similar and a strong "no" when she is about to bite you.
Some people say you should make a sound like you are hurt like "ouch", personally I disagree as a dog with a prey drive this will only excite them, similar to a squeaky toy. I know if you tried that with my guy, he would come at you twice as hard. So to your question "is it normal" I would say yes as it pretty much has happened with any pup I owned regardless of breed.

You can also do mental stimulation with training etc. You just need to keep it short, pretty much no more than 15 minutes per session.

Would also recommend crate training as I would never leave a puppy that young unsupervised.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Using their mouths is normal, its how they learn, explore and play so don't worry at the moment. We have a 12 week old puppy and our arms are just starting to heal from the first few weeks. As the previous poster said, distract and say no. If they bite too much withdraw from playing so they know its bad.