Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to get Tito neutered. He's almost a year, and I'm wondering is it too late now? The previous owner never got him neutered becuase he wanted to mate him to a friends boxer bitch and get a puppy or two. He's about 55-60lbs. I called a couple vets and everyone is in the 280-300 price range. I'm a university student and I paid for him all by myself (600 bucks) his stool blood test and physical cost me about 150. His food (Evo) was 75 bucks for a 28lbs bag. And this isn't including money spent on toys and treats and I'm sure you know the costs can really add up. I mainly want to get him neutered so he's not aggressive later on, doesn't get any diseases or cancers related to not being neutered and most importantly I don't want him to run away. All the vets and Humane societies make a big deal about neutering your pets, maybe if it was a little more reasonably priced and accessible to lower income people we all would. Most people who don't neuter their pets are people who simply cannot afford it or are too ignorant to care. Neutering is going to cost me half of what he did, now if I had the mindset of his old owner I'd never pay that much instead have him bred and make alot more money off his puppies, BUT I'm not, thats why I'm here. I am working this summer but right now my other main expense is my summer school courses which will be 500 each. I am hoping to get him neutered ASAP but the cost is the problem, and if I wait he'll get bigger and heavier and will cost me even more. What a dilemma. I live in the GTA (Greater Toronto Area) Ontario Canada anyone have their dog neutered for a reasonable price anywhere around here? And is it just really costly here? How much did you guys pay. Thanks for reading this it kinda got longer than expected.

·
Registered
2,327 Posts