Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My boxer, Chili, is 5 months old. I feed her 3 cups of food per day, as per the instructions on the puppy food bag. I feed her Nutro's Natural Choice, which was recommended by my vet. But, Chili is VERY skinny. I can see her ribs. And she is always hungry. I also feed her lots of pigs ears and bones which are high in fat. Someone mentioned that she may have a thyroid problem. I don't want to be an over-anxious dad, but I'm an over-anxious dad. Any suggestions?

Attachments

·
Registered
219 Posts
im still new to this myself.. but i think if you can not count all of her ribs then she is okay..
have you tried feeding her peanut butter? maybe in a kong? im not sure if it will work but i know peanut butter is good for her non the least.. as well as cottage cheese.

just some thoughts on more to feed her.. she is beautiful

·
Registered
942 Posts
boxer are naturally a little more lean than most dogs, so it's okay to be able to see ribs...it's not okay if you can see their hip bones and/or all of their ribs. Try maybe giving her more food, those guides that are on the back of the bag aren't very acurate. I don't think it would be bad to feed her more if she's skinny.

·
Registered
4,661 Posts
As stated above the boxer breed is very lean. You should be able to see the last two ribs, but should the spine/hip be easy to see then the dog is under weight. We used peanut butter sandwiches as a snack in the afternoon and a spoonful of cottage cheese mixed with the food in the evening to fatten up Savannah.

·
Registered
4,661 Posts
it is perfectly fine if you cant see them :) just means she is a healthy girl :lol: just if you CAN see the last two ribs than it is ok. hips/spine being seen is never a good sign in any dog.

·
Registered
8,155 Posts