Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

This is my first post, and I apologize if this topic has been brought up before.  Ali is 6 months old and I don't really have any major problems.  However, when I take time to train him commands like sit, down & stay, he has a tendency to lay down without me giving the command "lay down".  Sometimes he will lay down just because he sees that I have something he wants.  Admittedly :oops:, I hvae not been as consistent with training as I would like.  I would greatly appreciate some advice on how to correct this.  Thanks!

·
Registered
236 Posts
Hello and Welcome from Florida

What a smart boy to anticipate the command.  I'm no expert so won't offer any advice but I'm sure you'll get some good tips from those who are.

·
Registered
18,306 Posts
Lol, and that is one of the harder commands to get mastered!!!! Read thru our training Sticky topics for some good help in that area...

Welcome to the forum  :)

·
Registered
4,213 Posts
Welcome to the forum! LMAO Lay down is the only basic command that Sadie just can't wrap her head around  :lol: Like Willow said, the training section of this forum is an awesome resource. For Sadies training, we use lots of tiny treats or pieces of kibble and LOTS of praise. But the lay down...its just difficult! Good boy! LOL. Try saying when he lays "lay down" and then treat. He should eventually start to associate the word with the action. (and the reward)

·
Registered
74 Posts
I don't know Soloman would sit all the time on his own when we where out for walks. So if he sat on his own I  would just tell him to good sit praise and give him a treat. It made teaching him to sit a brease. I say run with it

·
Registered
2,937 Posts