Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.  I joined this forum for two reasons.  I wanted to get some advice and then share stories and pictures after I get the new dog.  As a semi-pro photographer, I promise great pictures.  You see, right now I am an "expecting" Paw-Dad.  Let me start from the beginning.

As a child, I grew up with an English Bulldog.  Then had no dog until about 10 years ago.  At that time, my girlfriend had two Rottweilers.  One had joint problems and had to be put to sleep at a young age.  The other one was an extremely smart dog and was therefore very entertaining and enjoyable.  I spent many years with him.

So, here I am now, remarried and without a dog.  I find myself missing having one and longing for the great companionship they offer.  I have always thought boxers were the cutest looking breed.  I also like their size and short hair.  Their faces are adorable and they are real clowns, from what I hear.

I have been thinking long and hard about the pros and cons.  I've reached a point in life where my house has premium wood floors and premium furniture.  Not to brag - just a little concerned.  I know the wood floors will take on extra wear, and I am ready to accept that.  There is no way I would keep the dog outside.  He will be an indoor dog or I won't get one.  Since we sleep upstairs (where I plan to keep off limits for the dog) my concern is what I should do at night?  Do I crate-train the dog and keep him there at night?  Any ideas?

Also, is it wise to get a crate for travel time in my vehicle?

I plan to get a dog that is approximately 2 years old from Boxer Rescue - LA.

As I mentioned, I will look forward to posting pictures once this happens.  And my Avatar will change to a cute boxer face.

Thanks Everyone.

·
Registered
74 Posts