Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!
I'm new to asking questions but I have been aware of this awesome community for some time now! Recently, the protests going on around our house there have been much more loud noises (fireworks, sirens, helicopters all day), his potty spot is the balcony and is well trained to visit the balcony whenever he needs to go but recently he wont even dare go outside to potty! he's scared of EVERYTHING that makes a sudden move now or any noise (as small as it could be) he jumps up (when he's been napping) or running further from wherever the noise came from! We've tried treats, his favorite foods, favorite toys, anxiety treatments. Nothing works ! any advice from this awesome community would be greatly appreciated :cry: !

·
Registered
614 Posts
Try to take him out at a quieter time of the day when no one is around and just sit quietly with him until he goes potty and reward him with an enthusiastic voice maybe a treat then take him right in the house as soon as he goes so he knows the faster he does his business the faster he can go back in. I am afraid now that he has experienced those frightening noises this will probably be with him a long time if not forever so watch him carefully when you have him outside the house as any noise may make him want to bolt and run. In the house I would recommend putting on the TV maybe a little louder than usual maybe a music channel with soft music and if that's not possible put him in a interior room with the radio on. We still have the 4th of July to deal with loud noises. but I would distract him if at all possible play a fun tug of war with him reward him for positive behavior.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3