Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
942 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my office pretty much just split into two, the top 4 guys (Pres, VP, VP Eng. and Operations Mgr) all just 'resigned' and started their own company. I'm just an admin, but our office was only 15 people (now 11). I'm at kind of little delima...I was talking to my mom and she was telling me to talk to one of the guys that left and ask them if they could use some support staff at their new company. I'm torn because the new company is about 20 miles from my house, the current company is 30 miles away, I'm trying to decide if 10 miles is worth possibly losing a $4k+ bonus come April and making the rest of my current co-workers very upset. There are a lot of unknowns and I have NO idea if they would even hire me...but the idea of working a little closer to home and working in a better part of town are very entycing.

Maybe it's something I should decide myself, but I can't blog about it anywhere else b/c my current co-workers would see and I don't really want that.

So thank you for reading. :)

T

·
Registered
4,661 Posts
I would talk to them and see what the difference in salary and such would be. if the salary is the same, or higher i say go for it. I feel your pain, for i to work 30+ miles from home. Getting to and from works takes 2.5 hours round trip. i HATE it, but the money is good. I am trying to find something closer to home making the same but not having too much luck. Good luck with your decision. i am sure it is a tough one.

·
Registered
2,937 Posts
Well I would think the first thing to do is talk to them and see if they even need you... if they are interested in that... talk to them about pay and the bonus... and about how you feel... being honest is a good thing 98% of the time! If you ask and then they say they don't need you... lol not like that of course... but if that's the case then you'd have been worrying and upset over nothing!