Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone I can use some help on what to feed my boxer. He is 6 years old and I have tried two different dog food and tried putting rice in his food and sweet potato. His stools are not normal. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Super Moderator
6,980 Posts
What do his stools look like? When did it happen? and what are you currently feeding him?

A change in stool can indicate so many things. We need more information.

·
Registered
1,297 Posts
im no expert but we originally started our first boxer on iams and it was a no go, we finally got him on a grain free food and now both are on it and they are doing wonderful. its a quality food that matters. not to be rude but iams is not a good quality food. you can google food reviews and it will come up with all sorts of information and i am sure there are many threads on this site about food. also raw feeding is an option, we have not gone there bc my fiance is not a fan but he is not informed but we use Earthborn Holistic grain free meadowfeast.

·
Registered
1,751 Posts
Logan had issues with dog food too. He had very loose stools, mud pie like (gross I know). I tried him on multiple brands of kibble over the span of 3 months or so and they all had the same result. I know now that it takes several months for the "side effects" of kibble to completely clear their system, but at the time I wasn't aware of that. Instead of continuing to try kibble after kibble I ended up switching him over to a raw diet and he's made a complete turn around. That's something that you can consider if you feel comfortable with it.