Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Glad to find this forum! I am completely new to boxers and have many questions. Here's a background:

In early July, we adopted a young female boxer (will be 3 in October this year) named Bailey. We were to be her fourth home; we adopted her from a cousin's friend who didn't have a place to stay. She came with a collapsible wire crate and usually has been good about going there at night and when we are gone (and we discovered that we hadn't put the crate together correctly...we think we've got it now). She has her tail docked but her ears are natural. We took her to the vet and got all her shots updated. She sailed through the exam. Healthy she is!

Bailey is our third dog. Santa is a 2-year-old beagle/rottweiler mix and Shadow is a 12-year-old golden/lab mix. Our old dog Shadow doesn't interact much with the younger dogs. Bailey had some fights with Santa in the beginning (around food but sometimes also toys), but then we learned about dominant dogs and figured out Santa was the dominant one, so we supported that hierarchy and they now seem to really enjoy each other, most of the time.

House-breaking has been a challenge. The last slip-up was a week ago, and happened right in front of us without a cue, but I wonder if it had to do with the stress of a new person (to her) coming to live in the house the day before. Most of the time she cues us by very slightly whining or just sitting and staring at you. I would like to help her learn a more obvious way of indicating she needs to go outside!