Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
904 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I am new to the boxer breed and as well to this forum. My name is Kristin and I just recently purchased my first boxer pup as I lost my german shepherd. She will be coming home the first week of June (she will then be 8 weeks), and I have named her Ryleigh.

I was wondering if you have any tips for a new boxer mom? I have done plenty of research on them and think this is the right breed for me.

A few specific questions I have are:
When is the best time to get them fixed? (I havent had a pup for years!)
What is the best way to make riding in the car a positive experience? I would hate for her to be stressed during travelling as I plan to take her many places with me. Also, the same with water- how do I let her know that it is okay and not to be fearful?
Any other hints would be wonderful.

Here is her picture at about 13 days old..

thank you!
Kristin.

·
Registered
4,661 Posts
Hello and Welcome!! your baby is ABSOLUTLEY GORGEOUS!! i bet the start of June cant come fast enough :) Please be sure to read through our puppy section for it has TONS of great information.  To answer your quesitons, as for the spaying..well that can vary with every person you ask. I would suggest before the first heat cycle. I waited until after with my youngest girl and i wished i hadnt :) First heat could start as early as 6 months but you never really know since every dog is different. For the car ride i would suggest a comforting blanket and toys :) If possible before you bring her home take a blanket over to the breeders house and let the moms scent get on the blanket. That will help calm her down becuase she will smell her mom which is a very familiar scent to her. The water i am no good on, i will experiencing this for the first time this summer :) good luck and please keep us posted on how she is doing!!

·
Registered
2,971 Posts