Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We have a 12 week old white boxer. We are looking into pet insurance. With everything we have read about the health issues of boxers, we are thinking it might be a good idea.

Does anyone have pet insurance and can give us some advice?

Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
13,468 Posts
I don't have pet insurance - although there have been times I wish I had.
I can't give any recommendations, although I've seen a lot of people have Trupanion.
Good luck on your quest for advice.

:)

·
Registered
475 Posts
I always recommend either trupanion or petplan. They are the only two companies, as far as I know, that will not consider a disease/condition diagnosed in 2012 for example as a pre-existing condition in 2013. I am no expert in the area but this was the case when I conducted my research. Here is a link to a good site that has customer reviews:

Pet Insurance Review - comparison of VPI, ASPCA, etc.

Good Luck!

·
Registered
253 Posts
The rescue where I got Karma gave a free 1 month pet insurance plan and I never followed up and re-newed it. I still regret it; especially since I knew that she had health issues when I got her. It was a really poor decision on my part.

I would say, regardless of health issues it is probably a good idea but you never know when something unexpected can happen.

More and more of my friends have been getting pet insurance and, while they do sometimes have issues with having things covered or getting timely reimbursements - they generally have positive things to say. (Mostly about the Trupanion)

·
Registered
1,456 Posts
I would go with Trupanion. Although white boxers DO NOT have more health problems than other boxers, but boxers in general do have more health complications than some other breeds. I will never own a pet without having pet insurance.

·
Registered
273 Posts