Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm relatively new to the boxer world. I adopted Buddy about 1.5 months ago (most of which was spent on "limited mobility" due to tumor removal surgery). Buddy's now doing great and has a lot more energy, and I'm at a loss for things that he can play with. The issue is I work at home a lot, and Buddy always wants to play. Fetch with anything soft and squeaky is his game, but its not so cute when I absolutely need to get work done and mostly-slobbered toys end up in my lap or thrown up on the keyboard. He won't play with them by himself, or with anything I give him. He also won't tolerate being in the yard by himself. He loves being out and failing to catch squirrels, but the minute I go inside he's barking/whining at the door (and he doesn't stop, no matter how long I ignore him). Since he doesn't chew the Kong, only kicks it around, the game lasts 10 min, tops. I'm wondering if there's anything I can buy or make to keep him amused on his own. Right now, he just waits for me to play with him or sleeps under my chair. I want him to be happy and mentally stimulated, I just don't know how! Any advice on some awesome toys woud be great. Also, FYI, Buddy's 4 yrs old and has had a hard life. He's not allowed to chew on anything hard (and won't) due to the fact he's already worn down/cracked his teeth to the gums.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
Have you tried putting something in the kong for him?  Fiona will not play with hers if it is empty, but when I stuff it she will sit and play with it by herself for hours

·
Registered
2,597 Posts