Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all - newbie here!

My family has always had dogs, so I've been exposed to dogs all my life and have brought up a few puppies as well, so I'm not completely ignorant with dogs...

I'm new here and I generally don't post on message boards, but wanted to ask this question:

I like to play with dogs while wearing leather gloves. All the dogs I've every had loved it. As soon as they see the gloves they go crazy. We can play rough, they can grab ahold of my hands with hurting me, and it's generally great play from what I can see.

My girlfriend has a boxer puppy and he's just about 6 months old. I bought a pair of leather gloves for him and we played for a couple of hours througout the day yesterday. He loved it, I loved it. It's so much fun. But since it's not my dog, I have to ask if this type of play will cause any problems. I was always careful to train my dogs to only be that rough WITH the gloves and not bare hands, but being MY dogs I didn't really care if they slipped since I was promoting the behaviour and it was my problem. Being the girlfriends dog, I guess I want to be be more careful with how the dog is trained. I don't let the glove play turn into wild aggression, but it does get a little crazier than it would without gloves. lol.

I'd love to hear any positive thoughts on this.

·
Registered
2,937 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum! I've always rough-housed" with my dogs and yet they were still super sweet to others. They were also much smaller dogs though... and looked like less of a threat. My husband and I rough-house with Odin... and I know I've read you aren't suppose to do that because you just want them to be sweet. A puppy loves that kind of play though. I don't do the leather gloves thing though. I think it's more up to what your girlfriend thinks. Hope that helped some, if not I'm sure you'll get more replies here soon. Good Luck... and welcome!!

·