Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I just made the appt this morning for getting Mercedes spayed. We've had her for a month now, she is 14 months old and we really don't want to deal with her being in heat. The appt is for next Thursday.

Then.... yup, you guessed it. Came home to find a big wet spot on the couch, and splotches in various places around the house. Arghh. This is my first time dealing with it. I called my friend at the pet store and she had me come down for some "panty" thing. So we are now dealing with taking it off and on everytime we send her out.

ADVICE NEEDED!!! SOON!!! PLEASE HELP!!!! ARGHHHH!!!!

Plus, I'm a guy!!!
Good thing my wife and 2 teenage daughters are around. They just put their arms around Mercedes and hug her and look at her knowingly. I'm like....... Well... I'm like just unnerved.....

HELP!!!

·
Registered
4,661 Posts
so not to sound clueless but what help are you actually needing??

I would talk to the vet and see if they will still spay if she is in heat. some do, and some dont. Heat cycles last typically 3 weeks. 1 wk coming in, 1 week of bleeding, 1 week going out. So if she is bleeding already then she may possibly be in her second wk, but some dogs bleed/spot all three wks...some two wks. All dogs are different. If you kennel her then she doesnt have to wear the panties or diapers or whatever you are using...if the bleeding isnt too heavy she should keep herself clean. uhhh...i dont know if i am leaving anything out, my girl just came off her heat cycle but it wasnt too bad...she didnt have to wear undies. Also if you DONT kennel then you have to take the panties or whatnot off for a few hours everyday...if you kennel then keep them off when she is in the kennel...ok i think that is all this time :D

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi,
I think I'm just looking for general advice, etc...