Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:cry:   This is my first time posting on a Boxer site.  Today I said goodbye to my best friend Sampson.  This was one of the hardest things I have ever had to do although when you get a dog you know that this is inevitable.  Two days ago I noticed his stomach was getting bigger and he was eating less.  I took him to the vet and she ran multiple tests only to find out that he had a cancerous tumour in his abdomin that was leaking.  This news tore my heart out.  The prognosis wasn't good.  There was surgery and medication that could delay the inevitable but his quality of life would be deminished.  I couldn't understand how a seemingly healthy dog could go downhill so fast in just 2 days.  I sat with him on the floor of the vet's office for about 30 minutes  and patted him and let him lick my face.  I felt like he was telling me it was time.  I thought about the alternatives to putting him to sleep but Sampson was too good a friend to see him suffer in any way.  When I felt I was ready I asked the vet to proceed and we both sat on the floor together, Sampson between us.  She explained to me what was going to happen, he would eventually lay down and slowly go to sleep, feeling no pain.  She asked him for his paw and he willing gave it to her (which he rarely did, he was stuburn) almost like he was ready to go too.  He sat beside me and I held his head with my right arm and put my left arm around him.  As she administered the needle he quickly dropped and went to sleep and died, not slowly as she thought it might be.  I held him in my arms for a few more minutes and then I said goodbye.  I will never forget my best friend, Sampson.  The greatest Boxer I ever knew  :(

·
Registered
2,937 Posts