Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would love advise on how to look for a reputable boxer breeder. What makes a good breeder. Our boxer was given to us as a 2 yr old, so I am new to this. Also, if anyone knows of reputable boxer breeders in Wisconsin or in the vicinity...that would help too!

·
Registered
980 Posts
I would say health tested parents. Hip/elbow, Hyperthyroid test, Holter monitor for cardiomyopathy, DM dna test.

See what type of history they have as breeders. Look for references. Talk to them. My personal thing is if they are just trying to get you to buy a puppy and they aren't asking questions about your lifestyle, what you are planning to do with the pup.. etc. I would walk away. Because in my mind they don't care about the pups and are just looking for $

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I would like to share our experience with Streamline Boxers. We brought home our 9 week old boxer at the end of December 2019. To be honest, researching to find a reputable boxer breeder was a nerve-wracking experience for myself. I had no idea where to start. So first things first, good old “google” there I went. I found backyard breeders to a few breeder sites, but not a lot of reviews. (This is exactly why I am sharing.) I felt at a loss. I knew I needed to narrow in on the breeders that I liked what I saw on the website/facebook page. At that point, I messaged a few breeders. At the same time, I did the “possible awkward” message to people, who have dogs from the breeder, I could see made a post. This is where without seeing many personal reviews on the site....it allowed me some further info/peace of mind of where I was choosing was a good decision.