Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this but needed to find some information on some health problems with our beautiful boxer. He has gallstones and arthritis, but today he was also diagnosed with a possible pinched nerve in his neck. Has anyone ever dealt with this before that could tell me anything about it? He is taking Rimadyl (which he had been off and on for the arthritis) and glucosamine, but is now also on a synthetic opiate or "doggy morphine" as the vet called it. Are there any really, really good brands of glucosamine I should buy that might help better. This is our baby and we love him dearly! Any info. or response is helpful. Thanks so much!

·
Registered
11,429 Posts
Welcome to the forum.  I can't help but there will be others who may have some information for you.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sid will be 3 in February. We rescued him from a shelter about a year and a half ago. He was in pretty bad shape then, but is just an amazing animal. I know, way young to be having these problems but we figured he must have had a rough beginning.

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
Sorry you are having a hard time.  Here is a link to a topic on Gyco-Flex III, which I think is one of the better one's.
On the 2nd page there is a posting that contains a link on a great place to order from also......
http://www.boxerforums.com/modules.php? ... light=gyco

On the pinch nerve.  Generally a pinch will repair itself with a little time.  Is he holding his head to one side or just very stiff.  I am not sure what your vet uses but here I have used a product called Banamine and it works great for this....Just hang in there.....

·
Registered
18,306 Posts