Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Re: A few pics with the new camera

Hi there,

I have Maddie 4 year old female boxer and just adopted Miller 2 year old male boxer. Any advice on how I should handle the territorial issues over food and toys? Also if my husband gives affection to Miller Maddie gets upset and he does everything to include her. I just want to make sure they get along other than that they seem to get along great.

·
Registered
11,429 Posts
I am sure that Miller and Maddie are still trying to sort out their places in the pack.  Hope it settles down soon.  I am not an expert but have always heard that if you pet one you should also be petting the other at the same time.  If you pet one first and then the other, it will seem like favortism to the other.

·
Registered
18,306 Posts
Here's some of the things we did when we brought Angel home and she was 18 mos and introduced her to Samson who was 10.....First off, give treats to Maddie first, feed her first, she needs to know that her "place" has not been taken away....Put up the toys for now, let them work out their problems with out other influences.....Find time to spend just with Maddie alone, even if it's for 5 minutes....If you do pet Miller, make sure Maddie gets a pet as well.....Feed in separate rooms for now, that may help with the food aggression...Samson actually took to having Angel around very easily, he's a very laid back guy, so that helped a lot, but  you could tell he resented the extra attention I paid to Angel as she had to watched closely, taken out a lot etc, so I developed a plan that in the evenings after Angel was crated, it was Samson time...Let him up on the bed, for some cuddling and scratching and he was in heaven.....Hope some of this helps...It does take time, be patient

·
Banned
2,318 Posts