Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I first found this forum, I wasn't able to work (I'm a published author) because the dogs "needed" me all the time. Now, I can come upstairs and they're so used to be shut downstairs that they stay down there without me shutting the gate. It's too cool! They know they're allowed to come up after dinner, and I have a big dog bed in my office (that Jasper hogs) and one in the bedroom, that has become Selena's. This was my dream when I got them, and I love to look over and see Jasper snoozing across the room.

Now for my question: both dogs need baths, and as soon as I get this latest book off to my beta reader, I'm going to give them one. However, both are losing hair. Selena's losing on the sides of her tummy, and Jasper has a spot just in front of his hip on one side. I think he might have a spot on the other side, as well. I see no crusty stuff or anything that makes me think it might be mange. I suspect there are fleas, and plan to buy flea collars next month when I get paid. The shampoo is a flea shampoo and so I know that will help. They have a big back yard to play in, and I wonder if they could have snagged themselves on brambles, but I've seen no dog hair in the yard and no scratches on the dogs. They do not lick or dig excessively. Any ideas what the issue might be?

·
Registered
5,084 Posts
Ugh ... freaking fles!!! My first solution is admitted not very practical??? But apparently it does work?? When we lived in San Jose Ca, t was a constant battle with fleas! Both the Cats ad the Dogs , flea collars, flea treatments it was a way of life??