Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4,213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was in a new pet store the other day picking up some treats for my new pup and the guy working was telling me that its good to get two types of treats. We were saying that we want them to be tiny as we will be using them for training... he said that we would need one kind for training and one kind for "just because". Something about the dog not working as hard for a treat she gets "just because"...wow typing it out really makes it sound ridiculous to me!

Can anyone confirm for me that this guy was trying to up sell? Or is it in fact true?

Thanks! I'm new to dog ownership and training :?

·
Registered
18,306 Posts
That is a new one on me! Definitely tho, the smaller treats do work well for training, I used to carry a little pouch with Samson's treats when we went to class. Now, here at home, I don't do that...I make a lot of my own treats, so I just take a few of out of the frig or freezer when I need them...I think tho, it is a good idea to have a second kind, I have a cookie jar that I keep biscuits and bones in just because... :)

·
Registered
1,302 Posts