Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to grain-free, so two quick questions:

1. I see California Natural has formulas with no rice, but they contain barley, oatmeal/rolled oats. I presume this isn't a good option. Just checking...

2.  Has anyone heard/read anything about potatos being a cancer causing agent for dogs?  I came across an article saying how the recent trend of adding potato to dogs' diets is bad. Any thoughts?

thank you!

·
Registered
381 Posts
1.  If you have you mindset on going grain free than an oatmeal and barley containing dog food wouldn't be a good option.  I'm not sold though on the need to go grain free though.

2.  Never heard of such a thing, but it doesn't surprise me.

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok, I feel better re the potatos. Thanks!  

The only reason we are trying the grain free is because of a potential allergy...Abby has had some bare spots on her skin and skin scrapings, etc have shown nothing. I have been told that she is too young to worry much about thyroid conditions so we are trying this first...if it doesn't work, we will move onto the thyroid testing.

She's been on canidae lamb and rice, so no poultry and I understand grains and poultry are two more common allergies...we'll see how it works!

Thanks!

·
Registered
381 Posts
Was she having problems on the lamb and rice?

Natural balance has fish & potato and duck & potato that are good choices for allergy concerns.

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
The skin problem was there when we got her at 5.5 months, we (and the vet) thought once she was on a good diet, they would clear up. But it hasn't gotten any better on the lamb and rice. In fact, as she has gotten bigger, the spots have become more visible.
We have actually started the NB fish & potato version (my reason for the potato question) but I was researching other good options to look into.

·
Registered
7,757 Posts