Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4,661 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
about a martingle collar? We have the regular nylon collars, but both girls are needing new ones. I have never used one before and tried to read through prior threads about collars, but either i am skipping over them or the debate between harness and nylon are over-shadowing what is said about martingale's. Is it similiar to a "choke" collar (i hate that term, but...) but it is cloth? can someone who is experienced with the martingales please inform me? :)

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
Andrea....

A Martingale is also refered to as a "humane choke".

They are great for training or walking, but I don't recommend the ones with the chain for everyday, running around the house kind of use.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Here's a little bit of info on martingales---they are steadily becoming more popular for many different dog breeds:

Martingale collars are also known as Greyhound Collars or Humane Choke Collars. The Martingale Collar was designed for Sighthounds (ie, Greyhounds, Whippets, Italian Greyhounds, Borzoi, Saluki, etc) because their necks are larger than their head and they can slip out of traditional side release collars; these collars have gained popularity with other breeds in the recent past because trainers prefer the humane choke aspects.

Martingale Collars have 2 loops. The smaller of the loops is called the "Control Loop". This is the portion of the collar that is attached to the leash and tightens when it is pulled. The second loop is the adjustment loop. This is the part of the dog collar that you adjust to the right size to fit your dog.