Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What to look for

Ok well i am new to the scene here but wondering what should i look for in a boxer puppy... any and all information would be great... i am not wanting a show dog... but i want a nice looking well behaved one... thank you all...

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forums. Are you considering a rescue or picking one up from a breeder?

·
Registered
4,661 Posts
Re: What to look for

Welcome! there are two ways you can go. either via rescue (highly reccommended) or via breeder. there is a sticky on the forum of what to look for in breeder (should this be the route you take) be sure to read it. The one thing you want to make sure if by going through a breeder is that it is a reputable breeder-not a byb who breeds for money. i personally would go the rescue route. there are hundreds of boxers that are needing homes. most of them are already housebroken and have some sort of formal training (sit..stay..down..ect..ect)

As for behavior that also depends on how much time you are willing to put into the animal for training. Liz is a trainer on here and give great advice. she should be able hopefully give more info on behavior and how to get a well behaved boxer.

hope this helps some.

·
Registered
7,757 Posts
Hi and welcome to Boxer Forums!  :)

If you are considering going through a rescue, an older dog versus a puppy will usually already be housebroken, crate trained, and a little more laid back.  The rescue organization will work with you to find that perfect boxer to add to your family. The people that have fostered these dogs get to know them and their habits and manners and will even work on training before they go to their new home.