Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,327 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive heard that you should take the bully stick away when it get's too short.. my question is how short is too short? Maverick is working on two at the moment and one is about 4 inches long and the other is about 3 inches long now. He really enjoys them but these are the first two ive bought so im new to these treats and unsure when to take them away...i dont want him to choke.

p.s. he is always supervised with them im just still worried.

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
I toss Fiona's when they are about 2 to 3 inch's or when she can get the whole thing in her mouth and close her mouth to chew it.....

G

·
0 Posts
oh...i didnt' know you were supposed to take them away...I let mine eat the whole thing...

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
aquagirl900\";p=\"73927 said:
oh...i didnt' know you were supposed to take them away...I let mine eat the whole thing...
They are suppose to be 100% digestable and will not cause blockage like raw hides. But be careful because dogs can still choke on them if they swallow a large hunk. Fiona does not get them if hubby is home because he said watching her chomp on a bull penis makes him sick :).....HannaB would be the best source on finding out about taking away and if so what length...I take it away from Fiona when it gets kind of small because she has got a piece hung in her throat before, but she is odd in that way she likes to swallow things whole and not worry with that little thing called chewing....

G

·
0 Posts
they are bull penis?  i thought they were just muscle?  ewww...i touched that?  ick

·
Registered
4,694 Posts
lmfao aquagirl!!!! i just let mine eat the whole thing lol

·
Registered
7,757 Posts