Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
905 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at the post on German boxer names got me to thinking - how did everyone choose their dogs' names?  I'm sure there's some interesting stories behind them!

Here's mine:

Tink - we had always planned to get a pair so were thinking along the lines of Belle & Beast, Hector & Andromecha (she'd have been Andi for short), etc. etc.  We finally decided on Tink(erbell) and Hook...

until...

We got Hector and he didn't look like a Hook at all!  I studied Classics for 5 years, so we called him Hector after my favourite character in Homer's Iliad.  (Unfortunately there's a rather annoying "personality" on Irish TV named Hector O hEochagain so everyone thinks he's named after him!)

·
Registered
405 Posts
When we rescued Abby, her name was Mya, as assigned by the boxer rescue. We actually liked the name, but my sister was pregnant, and didn't know the sex of the baby. If it was a girl, Mya was on her list of 20 something possible names. So out of the 50% chance that she would have a girl, there was a 5% chance that she may name her Mya. (Turned out it was a girl, but she was named after me!)
The night before we made our trip out to PA to get her, we had several friends over. One, who was not a dog person until he met our Abby (now he's in LOVE with her) was adament that we name her "Dammit," as that would most likely be the most used word in our vocabulary for a while. Ha!
Well, during the 5.5 hour trip back from PA, I just kept having this need to call her Abby, so it stuck. Of course, when she's in trouble, it's "ABIGAIL!!!"