Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I am a writer, and work from home. Well, I try to work from home. My 10-year old female boxer would happily leave me alone for hours while I write, but her 6-month-old son won't. (They are rescues, if that makes a difference.) I have to be right there with the baby, all the time. I'm not sure what information would help you all advise me, so I will just put what I think you need and allow you to ask me questions as you need to.

Pre-dog, my schedule was set so that I was up every 2 hours to stretch and move around and do housework. At least until I got into a writing groove, at which time I would forget to get up at all for hours, unless I set an alarm. I was up around 30 minutes and I'd go back to work. My home office is upstairs.

Before my gate was fixed, when I first got my boxers, I made them go out on leashes every two hours when I got up to stretch. I would walk them around the yard, try to gt the baby to do his business, and then bring them in and play. It has been snowy and/or incredibly cold in the three months I have had them, and that has made housebreaking a challenge, but that's a question for another time. We have a system going for that and I am seeing improvement. Anyway, I'd play with the dogs when we came back in before I headed upstairs. That going upstairs thing did not last long.

Now we have a gate, so the entire back yard is fenced...and it's pretty good sized. They go out without me, do their business, and come back in. I still play with them and have learned lots of new things to do with them to keep them occupied. (Thank you, Boxer Forum!!! :love: )