Boxer Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the boxer breed. My girlfriend and I just rescued a mix pup from a shelter. I know for a fact she is more than half boxer. She is young, the shelter said she was 12 weeks. but at her size I cant believe it. I think she may be around 8. she is only 11lbs and looks really light. can see a lot of ribs and leg bones are soooo defined. of course we are planning on the best high protein food, I want to get this adorable little one as healthy as possible as soon as possible any tips helps. thank you so much.

·
Registered
163 Posts
Congrats on the new fur baby! We'd love to see pictures. Whats his/her name? Do you know what your pup is mixed with?

I would recommend a visit to the vet first. If nothing more than to get established. Plus they may have a better assessment of your puppies weight. Even though our boy had seen a vet when with the breeder we took him just days after bringing him home.

Better food is never a bad idea. Just make sure you make the transition from what ever you are feeding now to the new food gradual. Often making a change in the food can upset the stomach. If you fur baby is already a little under weight you don't want to take the chance of weight loss and dehydration from diarrhea.

·
Registered
3,856 Posts
Congratulations on adopting a new pup! Yes sometimes they are under weight or a bit malnourished but slowly that will get better under your care. I would as the other poster said establish a visit with a vet first and foremost. Get a weight and a schedule of inoculations & deworming, (the vet will check to see , but its helpful if you take a tool sale with you). Not sure what the shelter was feeding but its a good idea to transition slowly. Again congratulations.

·
Registered
1,069 Posts
Like other posters have said, make an appointment with your vet as soon as possible.